An old Facebook Status

Remember when Facebook used to make you update your status like this: “Jonathan is . . .” And you had to fill in the blank? It was pretty frustrating if you wanted to share anything in any tense other than the present. I tried to find creative ways around it, such as this gem I just came across.

Jonathan V. Rarick

is looking in a critical way

at Hitler’s rhetoric.

How else shall I spend a Saturday?

 

Yet somewhere in the distance,

I hear memories of warmer days passed

Full of disc golf, for instance,

The sound of Joy as my friends laughed.

 

These are memories of a time so innocent,

A time when I was still young,

But the moment’s passed, I see this instant

And the man that I have become.

 

I long for my childhood,

A time lost in the ebb and flow.

I was rushed into adulthood,

“Oh where did the time go?”

 

It’s only been a few months

If you’re looking at the calendar,

But if you’re looking at me,

It’s been years

And you won’t recognize me anymore

Just like you never knew me before.

Leave a Reply

